Whose report will you believe?

Boeing 787 Dreamliner HD wallpaper for Wide 16:10 5:3 Widescreen WHXGA WQXGA WUXGA WXGA WGA ; HD 16:9 High Definition WQHD QWXGA 1080p 900p 720p QHD nHD ; Mobile WVGA PSP - WVGA WQVGA Smartphone ( HTC Samsung Sony Ericsson LG Vertu MIO ) Sony PSP Zune HD Zen ; Dual 4:3 5:4 16:10 UXGA XGA SVGA QSXGA SXGA WHXGA WQXGA WUXGA WXGA ;

Boeing 787 Dreamliner

Well I got my year-end report on my blog and the statistics are in.   My blog was viewed about 1,800 times in 2012. The new Boeing 787 Dreamliner can carry about 250 passengers.  If my blog were a Dreamliner, it would take about 7 trips to carry that many people.  Not too bad considering I didn’t start my blog until August, so this was only for 5 months of the year.  Readers from 36 different countries visited my blog.  Most were from the United States, India, and the United Kingdom.

My goal in starting this blog was not to attract a big fan base.  As stated in my initial post I started this to keep my friends and family informed not only of where I was in my treatment but to help others understand a little more of the how’s and why’s of breast cancer treatment and also as a means to encourage or inspire others going through a similar experience (or a not so similar experience).  If I have accomplished any of the above through this blog, then my blogging has been successful thus far.  The success of it for me is not based upon the number of readers or how many countries they have fared from.

Perhaps one day when I am not working full-time and going through treatment and a lot of other things, I will have the time to devote to blogging on a more regular basis.  There are probably a lot of things I could be doing to make my blog more “successful” in the eyes of the world using key phrases and all kinds of fancy technological things that I don’t have time for now that would get me more “hits” and “likes” and referrals but now is not that time.  Once I am done with my initial treatment I would like to have these posts printed up in a small devotional type book and left for free in the waiting areas of breast cancer treatment centers.  If others could be encouraged through them then I would consider this to have been successful.

This reminds me of other reports in the Bible.  Isaiah 53:1 says, “Who hath believed our report and to whom is the arm of the Lord revealed?” (DRA)  In The Message it reads, “Who believes what we’ve heard and seen? Who would have thought God’s saving power would look like this?” In John 12:37-38 this verse is quoted after Jesus performs many signs and miracles and people still don’t believe in him.  I have seen the “arm of the Lord revealed” in my trial this year.  His arms have held me and carried me.  I would not have thought God’s saving power would be seen in the face of breast cancer, but it was the miracle of His strength and joy and peace that saved and sustained me.

In Numbers 13 the spies are sent to check out the promised land. They return and the spies give a report saying the land is fruitful but the cities are fortified and large and the people are big and powerful.  Caleb gave a good report and said, “We should go up and take possession of the land, for we can certainly do it.” (v.30)  The others spread the bad report and grumbled and complained.  In 14:37 “these men who were responsible for spreading the bad report about the land were struck down and died of a plague before the Lord.”   Things that are foreign  and new to us (like cancer treatment) can be scary to face but we must have the faith and confidence like Caleb and say, “I can conquer this!”

The “year-end” statistical report on my blog did not tell me the facts that I really wanted to know.  It cannot measure whether anyone’s life was touched or changed in any way.  I only know when you leave me a comment.  That’s the report that I will believe.  Thank you readers for taking a ride on “my Dreamliner”.  I hope that you have been encouraged or inspired in some way through my posts in 2012.  I am looking forward to delivering a good report in 2013!

8 thoughts on “Whose report will you believe?

  1. Thanks for a “year-end” report. Good news, whether or not you are receiving comments, ……you’re blog is read. Perhaps some readers, in the interest of total privacy, don’t want to respond, or just don’t feel the need to. Anyway, I have learned a lot from your posts, and look forward to learning more. Thanks!

What do you think?

