Three’s a charm?

Many things come in threes or happen in threes. Why I’m not sure. Three was considered lucky and as a result many things ended up based on that number.  How often have we started something by saying, “One, two, three, GO”?   In baseball, three strikes and you’re out; three outs and the inning is over.  Ice hockey consists of three periods of twenty minutes each. An atom consists of three parts: protons, neutrons and electrons. With three notes you can form a chord.  There is a nursery rhyme about Three Blind Mice.   Both  the “Three Little Pigs” and “Goldilocks and the Three Bears” are classic children’s literature.  The Three Musketeers is a classic novel.  Our family likes to watch old movies of the Three Stooges.  When my children were little we would give them three gifts at Christmas and remind them that baby Jesus only received three gifts when the wise men visited him.

As I wrote before in No Small Thing, I need an aromatase inhibitor as part of my treatment for the next five years.   The first one I was on was  Femara (letrozole).  That left me feeling unbelievably achy in all my joints.  Next I was switched to Arimidex (anastrozole)  and that has left me with rashes on both of my arms and hands.  One week from now I will start the third one that is available on the market, Aromasin (exemestane).  My doctor’s exact words were, “Three‘s a charm and I am hopeful that this one will agree with you.”  We  shall see.  I am hopeful  and pray that it has no side effects as the last alternative would be taking Tamoxifen which I really don’t want to have to resort to.  I don’t believe in charms or luck but I do believe in prayer and am trusting God that this third one will be the answer.

2012 is drawing to a close soon.  I never dreamed that  this past year would have turned out the way it did.   Then again, no one EXPECTS to get cancer, do they?  My treatment was in three parts…surgery, chemotherapy, radiation. My chemo infusions were every three weeks.  My radiation had a magic number with not one, but two threes;  33 total treatments.  I am still receiving an infusion of herceptin every three weeks until next May.

All this talk of threes reminds me of some threes in the Bible.  Esther had everyone pray and fast for three days.  Jonah was in the belly of the fish three days and three nights.  Jesus rose from the grave on the third day.  1 Corinthians 13:13 reads, “And now these three remain: faith, hope and love. But the greatest of these is love.” (NIV)  One of my favorites is the trinity; God the Father, God the Son and God the Holy Spirit. I am so thankful for that “threesome” especially this time of year as we once again center on how God the Father sent His Son to earth in the flesh as a baby to save us from our sins.  Now that’s a threesome that I wouldn’t call a charm but an outright miracle, and one that we can count on every time!

2 thoughts on “Three’s a charm?

  1. Thanks Sue for the info. I always refer to the number 3. To be mindful of Father God, Jesus and the Holy Spirit!!! I pray that this time 3 will be the right treatment in Jesus name!!!
    Sent from my Verizon Wireless BlackBerry

What do you think?

