It’s Good to be Alive

Why is it that so many of us don’t look forward to celebrating our own birthdays because it means we will be yet another year older, when in reality we are only one day older than the day before?  Remember when you were young enough that you couldn’t wait for your next birthday and would tell someone you were six and three-quarter years old!  That three-quarters was very important to add because it meant you were almost another year older.

Birthday cupcakes that my daughter and her friends made for me!

I had kind of blocked out exactly how old I was once I approached middle age and found myself having to do the calculations when it came to filling out forms.  Let’s see, if I was born in so-and-so year and now it’s such-and-such year, then I must be “x” number of years old now.  It was never something I wanted to dwell on before…GETTING OLD.

Well guess what.  Today I turned 53 (and yes, I did have to calculate just to make sure I got it right and wasn’t adding extra years on) and I was happy to celebrate my birthday!  I’ll tall you what made the difference.  Getting a diagnosis of breast cancer this year and realizing that without it there is a possibility that I might not have been here to celebrate my birthday today has made a difference.

My mom wanted to know why I was reminding my Facebook friends that my birthday was coming up.  Was I really “anxious to be a year older”? No!  I was rejoicing that I was alive to celebrate my birthday this year.  I know that some people believe that frequent mammograms actually contribute to breast cancer.  I believe that it is because I did have routine mammograms that my cancer was found in stage 1 before it had progressed further.  Women hear me out.  DO NOT put it off if you are due for one.  Only one year had lapsed for me between mammograms when my cancer was diagnosed. Do you want to celebrate your next birthday?

A very special birthday card I received this year!

Time is God’s birthday gift to each one of us that celebrates a birthday. Psalm 90:12 says, “Teach us to realize the brevity of life, so that we may grow in wisdom.”(NLT)  Life is short.  Tomorrow is not guaranteed. Our days are numbered. Time is a treasure that attracts many robbers. How are you spending your days?  Don’t live in regret. Write a bucket list and start it!  Attend that reunion.  Take that road trip. Make that phone call.  Nike has that great slogan, “Just do it!”

My father had never skiied a day in his life and took up skiing from 70 – 80 years old. He lived near a ski resort and lift tickets were free to those his age (I tried to help him see the logic in that to no avail). He bought equipment at a yard sale and hit the slopes successfully anyway.  I’m not saying you have to be that extreme but is there something you have been putting off doing?  Be courageous.

I love the lyrics to a song by Point of Grace called “How You Live.”  It mentions not spending your life looking back, of taking chances, facing things, thinking of others, and making peace with God. Check out the song here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GNOvLqNVnSY

There’s a song by Jason Gray called “Good to be Alive.”  The chorus says,

“I won’t take it for granted
I won’t waste another second
All I want is to give you
A life well lived, to say ‘thank you’

I wanna live like there’s no tomorrow
Love like I’m on borrowed time
It’s good to be, it’s good to be alive”

Yes, it’s GOOD to be alive but just being alive isn’t enough.  It boils down to how we are actually living each day.  Be THANKFUL for each day.  Live life to it’s fullest.  Don’t be afraid to “turn up the music” loud or to “use your good dishes.”  At the same time realize that our time here is only a taste of what is to come.

9 thoughts on “It’s Good to be Alive

  1. Sue…you are going to think I’m a bit brain-damaged, but I finally realized you are and why your photo looked familiar!!! Now your blog is all the more precious to me! And I so agree about your sentiment to be thankful for each day and live it to the fullest! Thank you for sharing your journey. XOXO

    • Karen,
      That’s because we always knew her as Kelly. Judy and I saw her at homecoming a few years back and so have had time to adjust to the different first name.

  2. “Today YOU
    are YOU
    That is truer
    than true.
    There is no one
    alive
    Who is YOUER
    than
    YOU…”
    Dr.Seuss

    Celebrating YOU!!! Enjoy this special day:) xoxo

  3. Happy Birthday, Sue!! I love all your thoughts and comments because they all ring so true. Thanks for sharing all of them with all of us. I just have a feeling that 53 is going to be a great year for you. God is blessing me through you. 🙂 Janis

  4. OH, WOW, Sue…this is good stuff!!! Flowin’ …I can tell! really, though!

    Happy Birthday, dear Sister in the Lord! Do you know I wasn’t able to open your email earlier but I had seen the subject line. I was taking Melissa somewhere and I started hearing this really awesome song on 99.1 and I told Melissa how you had titled your latest blog, “It’s Good to be Alive” and I said, I wonder if Sue is going to reference this song in her blog and sure enough!!! It was great because I was really listening to the words and thinking about you and how you are so thankful to be alive and what you may write. And what you wrote was wonderful.

    I love that your Dad took up skiing from 70-80!!! What a nut, and I mean that in the most complimentary way. : )

    It IS good to be alive and praise the Lord for each and everyday He has given us to share His love.

    Thank you!

    Luv, Laura BTW, the photos were so cool. The cupcake picture looked like it was taken from a cookbook. beautiful.

What do you think?

